Cranberry and Coconut mug cake

 

I’m going to try not to be one if those food bloggers who makes you scroll through two decades of anecdotes before taking you to the recipe, so wish me luck!!
Mug cakes have recently come into vogue as a quick, easy and portion controlled snack, here is the one that we had for our after school snack today.
Cranberry and Coconut mug(or ramekin) cake
4 Tbsp Self-raising flour
2 Tbsp Caster Sugar
2 Tbsp mashed banana (break about 5cm off the banana and mash in the cup)
2 Tbsp Coconut oil
3 Tbsp Milk
2 Tbsp chopped dried cranberries

(see below recipe for a few explanations and tips)

Instructions
1. Mix flour and sugar together in large mug or ramekin (I made mine in a ramekin so that I could share it between 3 of us).
2. Place banana in ramekin and mash with a fork (doing it in the pot means you don’t have to get any other dishes dirty, bonus!)
3. Add coconut oil and mix well, it can get pretty firm, so mix well enough to get out most of the lumps
4. Stir in milk and cranberries

DSC_0504
5. (Optional) Shake on a few sprinkles for a confetti look

DSC_0505
6. Cook in microwave at about 750W (70% in my 1100W microwave) for 2min
7. Devour!

DSC_0507
Make sure you get the biggest piece!
DSC_0506
Miss- so-very-close-to-being-5 was pretty chuffed with our efforts 

Just a couple of notes….
I used banana instead of egg in this recipe, the alternative is to have 2 Tbsp of beaten egg, and that is not something I usually keep portioned out in my kitchen. However, as a savvy baker, I know that you can substitute an egg for a mashed banana in recipes. I this case, I simply used part of a banana instead of a whole, fortunately, it worked (not always the case when I make up recipes…).
Vegetable oil is also commonly used in cake recipes, but it is my personal choice to avoid it where possible, simply because it upsets my tummy. When recipes call for oil, I use coconut oil or sunflower oil. You could easily substitute the coconut oil for sunflower oil and toss in a tablespoon of desiccated coconut if you still wanted the coconut flavour.

Leave me a note in the comments if you like it and have any requests for variations and enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

